pasobfam.blogg.se

Best voice recognition software for writer
Best voice recognition software for writer











best voice recognition software for writer

4īut, yes, it is also kind of annoying and overly helpy. That is very sweet of you and I totally get why. Update: I should have also noted that every time I write one of these posts I get lots of people trying to help. I have been hearing lots of wonderful stories about the ways VRS has changed lives since I started writing cranky posts about it. VRS is going to have to take giant strides to get to a point where it allows me to write fiction without grief and frustration and the hurling of head sets across the room.Īgain, I’m really glad that it has helped so many of you. I’m grateful.īut for my novel writing? It’s a deal breaker. Using VRS for those kinds of writings does save my arms. I do persevere with it for blogging too despite the fact that means I am at most blogging once a month.

best voice recognition software for writer

Obviously, none of this is a huge problem for e-mail. 3 Its slowness is very, very frustrating and is yet another factor that messes with my flow when writing. I can get words down way faster and more accurately than VRS. However, checking what the VRS has produced after Every Single Clause slows me down and ruins the flow. But that first sentence? Leave it for a few minutes and I’ll have no clue what I was trying to say. Which is a terrible sentence but I can see what I was going for and I’ll be able to fix it. When Angel was able to emerge into the orange night Liam’s reign was complete. Warm artichoke had an is at orange night light raining when come lit. With VRS if I don’t check after every clause appears I wind up with sentences like this: And when I’m typing the sentence it always has a resemblance to its platonic ideal. Now, yes, when I’m typing that gorgeously crafted sentence in my head it frequently turns out to not be so gorgeously crafted but, hey, that’s what rewriting is for. Having to start and stop as I correct the VRS errors, and try to get it to write what I want it to write, interrupts my flow, throw me out of the story I’m trying to write, and makes me forget the gorgeously crafted sentence that was in my head ten seconds ago. Most of my first drafts are written in a gush of words as the characters and story come flowing out of me. “I’m going to eat a big, corpulent mango” works fine for an e-mail. Won’t recognise how I say “fat”? Fine, I’ll say “rotund” or “corpulent” or whatever synonym I can come up with that VRS does recognise. The almost right word is fine for an e-mail. Recently it refused to recognise the word “ashy.” Now, I could have said “grey.” But guess what? I did not mean “grey” I meant “ashy.” I cannot keep banging my head against the stupid software getting it to understand that the word that I want is “wittering” NOT “withering.” THEY DO NOT MEAN THE SAME THING. The almost right word is the wrong word for fiction. But mostly I don’t chat much anymore.īut I gave up almost straight away on using it to write novels. But I usually end up switching to typing because it simply cannot keep up with the pace of those conversations and I can’t stand all the delays as I try to get it to type the word I want or some proximity thereof. I use VRS only for e-mails and blog posts. And sometimes its mistakes are so funny I fall over laughing. I know my posts here about VRS have been cranky so I’ll admit now that there are moments when I almost don’t hate it: VRS is a much better speller than I am.

best voice recognition software for writer

Also remember one of the hardest things for VRS is for it to distinguish between the speaker’s sounds and other noises. And even then there are mishearings and misunderstandings. We humans (and other sentient beings) are also recognising context and bringing together our extensive knowledge of our own culture every time we have a conversation. 1 The way we make sense of what someone says is not just about recognising sounds. Recognising spoken language and reproducing it as written language is crazy hard.

best voice recognition software for writer

I am well aware that what VRS is trying to do is unbelievably complicated. For them VRS is a wonderful transformative thing. There are people who literally could not write without it. And though I hate it I know that it has transformed gazillions of people’s lives. Every time I mention my RSI people suggest that I use voice recognition software.













Best voice recognition software for writer